Home » What are the types of Law in the Indian Law System?

What are the types of Law in the Indian Law System?

The public authority of the nation makes Law System as a framework to observe the standards and guidelines and to keep the province quieter to live in. 

As a citizen of a country, we should know the types of law in the Indian law system. General sets of laws shift between nations, with their differences broke down in near law. In common law areas, a governing body or other focal body classifies and solidifies the law. Law gives a source of insightful investigation into the legitimate history, reasoning, financial examination, and humanism. Law similarly raises significant and complex issues concerning uniformity, reasonableness, and equity.

India follows which legal system?

We keep up a half type overall set of laws with a combination of common, law basis on precedent and standard, Islamic morals, or strict law inside the lawful system the county acquire with time and different enactment the British initially presents are still in actuality in different structures today.

It has a federal judicial system that is based on combined legislation i.e. based mostly on the parliamentary legislature, court laws, customary & non-secular laws as well. The judges develop the Indian Judicial System by their decisions, orders, and judgments.

Who settle on choice which law should be make in India?

The administrative technique in India for the association government necessitates that proposed charges go through the two Legislative houses of the Parliament of India, i.e. the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

House of the Parliament of India presents proposals before them in the form of a bill. A bill becomes an act of Parliament when the draft of a legislative proposal passes by both houses of Parliament and assented to by the President.

What are the types of law in Indian law system?

There are 4 types of law system in India: – 

-Civil law, Common law, Criminal law, Statuary law.

1.Civil Law

The Civil Law comprises a collection of rules which gives organization, and legal points of reference to help in settling the different non-criminal debates. These debates are either between people or associations. The fundamental object of Civil Law is to determine contest and contradictions between people by giving pay to the wronged. The Civil Procedure Code manages the working of common courts and gives the system to support the civil laws.

Civil law is not quite the same as criminal law; as civil law underlines more on debate goal than discipline. Civil law is material for wrongs against people, different from criminal law which manages wrongs carried out against the state or society in general. 

There are four subdivisions of Civil Laws:

a. Law of Torts/ offences

b. Family Law

c. Contract Law

d. Property Law

2. Common Law

At the point when the East India Company came to India, it carried Common Law with it.  Common-Law has different names such as judicial precedent or judge-made law or case law. The Commo`wn Law is contrary to the Statutory Law, as the laws made under the Statutory Law are made by remembering the future cases, which may emerge. Along these lines, Common Law is a collection of lawful guidelines that have been made by the adjudicators on the cases chose instead of the standards and laws made by the council or given in authentic figures.

3. Criminal Law

Criminal law is made because of the crime and offenses that take place in the country. This law provides punishments for committing such offenses. 

Criminal law is not the same as the common law; as the common law emphasizes more on contest goal than discipline. Common law is physical for wrongs against an individual and not against the general public or state. The standard that must be met in criminal procedures is “past a sensible doubt”, dissimilar to common procedures that depend on “dominance of likelihood.”

In India, Criminal law is basically dealt with by, the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973; and the Indian Evidence Act, 1872. The Indian Penal Code, 1860, defines various kinds of offenses and provides punishments for them.

4. Statuary Law

Statuary law is otherwise called legislative law or national law or municipal law. It is made by the government (public and state governing body) to control the direction of its families. Enactment can make law all alone to counter any present or future issues. The enactment needn’t bother with any case to develop the official courtroom to make a law and set point of reference.

Statuary Law is inverse to Common Law as the future depends on legal points of reference though the previous authorizes to counter present or future issues regardless of any point of reference or case laws.


As a citizen of the county, we should know about the laws of Indian law system. In India, the government applies different sorts of laws to control and decide the conduct of residents. These laws keep up with the society and security of any issues which individuals may confront, Different sorts of laws address and counter various issues as per their appropriateness. All these four laws are like the pillars of a disciplined society and the absence of any one of these four laws will result in an imbalance in society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *